IF I were Lupita Nyong’o

IF I were Lupita Nyong’o
I would reopen the Kenya National Theatre (KNT)
Alongside Uhuru Kenyatta
And spend time, validating the dreams,
Breeding out of this space.
11692569_853956974686204_6942798095394279856_n
If I were Lupita,
I would be a life time ambassador,
to The Phoenix Players – Kenya
In solidarity, with their lifetime struggles.

If I were Lupita
I would bring together, the fraternity of MTV Shuga
to count the milestones so far achieved,
towards a HIV Free Generation.

IF I were Lupita,
I show up at the Ministry of Sports, Culture and the Arts – Government of Kenya
ready to undress the issue of government support to the arts.

IF I were Lupita,
I would pass by the Ministry of Devolution and Planning.
and ask them to draw me a map of #SanaaMashinani.

If I were Lupita,
I would call for a candlelit vigil,
At the Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development
in memory of the dreams that have died, since art was scrapped from curriculum.

If I were Lupita,
I would go on hunger strike,
Till, they reintroduce the arts, back into school curriculum.

[ But you see, am not.
I have gone wild
With WildAid
For the Elephants ]

Leave a Reply

